Android App Weekly Update – Action Bar and other stuff

What I did this week:

I began work on the Action Bar for the app this week. I saw that the compatibility library provided by Google doesn’t provide the ActionBar api for versions < 3.0. So, I went about writing my own custom layout for the Action Bar using ImageButtons and Spinners. I have also included the Action Bar in almost all the Activities that the users use. I have written a separate action_bar.java code for it so that any changes to the Action Bar do not break a particular Activity, making bug-fixing difficult. The Action Bar is almost ready now. Almost, because there are still a few bugs which I am fixing right now.

When I took up this project, I realized that UI not only meant the design but the workflow. I have been facing a lot of challenges lately, trying to separate out components that are intrinsically connected in the existing app. I have been discussing a lot with my mentor about this.

I am working on providing a new activity for viewing drafts. So, that you can see that coming up in the dashboard soon. I also took a few ideas from Aaron Campbell’s comment on Wojtek Szkutnik’s <a href="I began work on the Action Bar for the app this week. I saw that the compatibility library provided by Google doesn't provide the ActionBar api for versions https://gsoc2011.wordpress.com/2011/06/09/enhanced-emails-weekly-update-6/ and have changed the comment buttons in the comments activity to maintain uniformity.

Plan for next week:

Based on some ideas, from the community, I am planning to complete a few non-UI ideas that make the app better in term of functionality in the future. Right now, I am trying to bring “Refresh all” feature to the app, replacing the individual Refresh features in the current app.

I think I will be done with the major UI features of the Grid Dashboard and Action Bar during next week, which means that I can start work on minor features like, changing the line graph in Stats to column graph, working on the icons, making posting quicker and easier, etc.