Introduction to Jacob Gillespie

Hello Everyone!  My name is Jacob Gillespie, and I am a 19-year-old Computer Science student at the University of Texas at Dallas (that’s in Texas in Central Standard Time).  I started learning computer programming at age ten and have since developed a passion for web development and usability specifically.  I have had the opportunity to work on several web development projects like the Texas Beekeepers Association and Desert Creek Honey Co.  Web development is my main hobby, but yes, I am also a beekeeper.

I am looking forward to working with WordPress and GSoC this summer – my project involves improving/replacing WordPress’s multi-file uploader.  The existing uploader uses Adobe Flash to handle uploading, however better options have since emerged.  My project will investigate existing open-source file uploaders (like Plupload) that incorporate other transports (like HTML5 / AJAX, Google Gears, Flash, IFrame, etc.) and attempt to integrate these improvements into WordPress.  In addition, I will be investigating the ability for HTML5 image manipulation prior to upload (resizing, filters from plugins, etc.).

I have been working with WordPress for the past couple of years and have been migrating all my client websites to WP as I can.  I submitted my application to WordPress as I LOVE WordPress and view it as the best publishing platform available on the web.  I have had issues in the past with Flash-based file uploaders, so the Codex suggestion for this project caught my eye.

If you’re interested in looking at more of my stuff, feel free to check out jacobwg.com.